top of page


Iota Chapter of San Jose State was the ninth chapter to be activated by the National Alpha Phi Sigma Honors Society on May 14, 1971.


Over the course of the years since its establishment, Iota Chapter had experienced rough times, and fell inactive. Under the advisement of Dr. Harry Moore, and APS president Donna Ellis, Iota Chapter was reactivated in 1980. From 1981-1982, Bill Nay took over as President of Iota Chapter, and was also appointed the Western Region Director for Alpha Phi Sigma.


Again after the 80's, Iota Chapter became inactive a few times more. Former Iota Chapter president Bill Nay became involved in 2005 with the reactivation of the chapter at San Jose State. Since then, Iota Chapter has remained a strong presence in the SJSU, and APS community.


Iota Chapter continues to thrive as a student organization, and hopes to continue to do so in the years to come.


Iota Chapter's current faculty advisors are Professor's Kameda and Peterson, alumni Bill Nay.




In September, 1941, Dr. Vivian Anderson Leonard was asked by the president of Washington State University if he would accept the directorship of a Police Science Academic Program at Washington State. Dr. Leonard accepted the offer and became responsible for developing a four year curriculum which would lead to a Bachelor's Degree in Police Administration.


Upon his arrival at Washington State, Dr. Leonard began to realize how important it was that a Police Science Honorary be established. The purpose of this honorary would be to promote excellence in scholarship and performance. In January, 1942, Dr. Leonard met with seventeen Police Science majors at Washington state and Alpha Phi Sigma was established. Glenn Hill was elected as the first president and appointed a committee to draft the first Constitution and By-laws.


During its initial years Alpha Phi Sigma experienced only limited growth, but on March 24, 1976 in Dallas, Texas, the Executive Board of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences voted unanimously to designate Alpha Phi Sigma as the National Criminal Justice Honor Society. At this time, Alpha Phi Sigma had only fourteen chapters; however, since then, Alpha Phi Sigma has continued to grow and prosper at a very rapid rate and there are now over three hundred and sixty Chapters.

Over the years the National Officers have been located at Universities across the country, such as, Washington State University, Midwestern State University, Eastern Kentucky University, Texas Woman's University, Fairmont State College, Marshall University, Tarleton State University,  Florida International University, Boise State University, University of Houston ~ Downtown.


Academy of Criminal Justice Science Affiliation


At the 1976 meeting of the Academy of Criminal Justice Science in Dallas, Texas, the Academy recognized Alpha Phi Sigma as the Criminal Justice Honor Society. Since 1978, Alpha Phi Sigma has held its national conference in conjunction with the annual ACJS meeting. The Academy's continued support of Alpha Phi Sigma serves to enhance Alpha Phi Sigma's purpose - the recognition of scholarly achievement in the field criminal justice.


Member of the Association of College Honor Societies


The Association of College Honor Societies was organized October 2, 1925, by a group of college and university teachers, administrators, and representatives of a few well-established honor societies. Its object was then and is now to consider problems of mutual interest such as those arising from the confusion prevailing on college campuses concerning the character, function, standards of membership, multiplicity, and undesirable duplication of honor societies; to recommend action leading to appropriate classification or elimination; and to promote the highest interest of honor societies. Alpha Phi Sigma  was granted membership by the Association of College Honor Societies in 1980.



*Information taken from the National Alpha Phi Sigma history webpage

bottom of page